New Music Tuesday! (March 6): Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band, Andrew Bird, Kaiser Chiefs + more

New releases out this week, with lots of audio & video.



Tons of new releases out this first week of March! I've included info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months ...

The Alchemist, Rapper's Best Friend 2 (Decon)

Balkan Beat Box, Give (Nat Geo)
The Israeli/NYC trio — Tamir Muskat, Ori Kaplan of Firewater and Big Lazy, and Tomer Yosef — mixes gypsy punk, electro, funk, reggae and world music into a rather appealing beat-driven brew. This is their fourth studio effort. Check out the single "Part of the Glory" below, its video featuring guest spots by, among others, the Hankra dancers breakdance group, Lions Of Zion, and journalist Gila Goldstein.

Tony Bennett, Duets II: The Great Performances (Sony)
A DVD/Blue-Ray companion to the singer's Duets II LP that shows the behind-the-scenes process of the making of the recording amid live song performances.

Andrew Bird, Break it Yourself (Mom & Pop)

Bowerbirds, The Clearing (Dead Oceans)

Brass Tax, Brass Tax Album (Neurotic Yell)

Paul Brown, The Funky Joint (Woodward Avenue)

Ceremony, Zoo (Matador)

Carl Cox, All Roads Lead To The Dancefloor (Intec Digital)

Crushed Stars, In The Bright Rain (Simulacra Records)
The latest from Crushed Stars was recorded with Stuart Sikes (White Stripes, Modest Mouse) and the majority of the album's instrumentation was handled by Todd Gautreau with guests that include drummer Jeff Ryan (St. Vincent, War on Drugs), Howard Draper (formerly of Okkervil River/Shearwater) and Buffi Jacobs (The Polyphonic Spree). Check out "Brighter Now" after the jump along with the rest of this week's new releases, with more video and audio, too.

Dance Hall Pimps, Beast for Love (Lakeshore Records)

Rocco Deluca, Drugs N Hymns (429 Records)

The Demolition String Band, Gracious Days (Varese Sarabande Records)

Dinowalrus, Best Behavior (Old Flame)

DZ Deathrays, No Sleep EP (3|4)
Shane Parsons (vocals/guitar) and Simon Ridley (drums). Since the first house party the Brisbane-based duo ever played, they have been noted as a relentless live act. NME and Q Magazine both placed the band in their "Top 10 Bands of The Great Escape," while NME took their praise even further and placed them as the 4th Most Exciting New Band of 2012.

Elfin Saddle, Devastates (Constellation)

Every Time I Die, Ex Lives (Epitaph)
Adrenaline-pumping hardcore rockers Every Time I Die was produced by renowned heavy music knob adjuster Joe Barresi (Tool, Queens of the Stone Age) and was described by Absolute Punk as "bigger, badder, and louder than ever." Check out " " below.

Fireflight, Now (Provident)

Tim Fite, Ain't Ain't Ain't (Anti-)
Prolific idiosyncratic musician and visual artist Fite presents the final installment of his "Ain't" trilogy. In contrast to the first two critically-lauded albums, Fair Ain't Fair and Gone Ain't Gone, Ain't Ain't Ain't focuses on adolescent rites, according to Fite himself, "First loves, fist fights, cliques, slow-dances, broken hearts, joyrides, bullies and the big game." Watch the making-of video below.

Fleetwood Mac, Go Your Own Way: Live 1977 (IMV Blueline)

Fort Romeau, Kingdoms (100% Silk)

Bill Frisell, Floratone II (Savoy Jazz)
Frisell and original Floratone members Matt Chamberlin, Tucker Martine and Lee Townsend — who produced what NPR proclaimed was "the most riveting instrumental music to emerge this year" of their 2007 first. This is their second album.

Good Old War, Come Back As Rain (Sargent House)
The Philadelphia-based trio issues their third full-length of catchy acoustic-driven indie folk music. Listen to "It Hurts Every Time" below.

Kaiser Chiefs, Start The Revolution Without Me (Cooperative Music)
Start The Revolution Without Me is a reworking of the album The Future Is Medieval by the Britpop post-punk band, and features tracks not available on that release. The band worked with producers Tony Visconti (David Bowie, Iggy Pop), Ethan Johns (Kings of Leon, Ray LaMontagne) and Owen Morris (Oasis, The Verve) as well as trying their hand at producing their own tracks with drummer/songwriter Nick Hodgson at the controls. The result is more experimental electro rock moments, as "Little Shocks" with its creepy keyboard riff. Check out the video below.

Brian Lopez, Ultra (Funzalo Records)

Lovedrug, Wild Blood (self-release)

The Magnetic Fields, Love At The Bottom Of The Sea (Merge)
The Magnetic Fields present a punchy mix of synths and acoustic sounds they first established in the '90s with Merge; this is their first record with the label since 1999's 69 Love Songs.

The Men, Open Your Heart (Sacred Bones)

Idina Menzel, Live Barefoot At The Symphony (Concord Jazz)

Metronomy, The English Riviera Unreleased Remixes (Big Beat Records / Because Music)
This collection from UK electro pop foursome Metronomy includes 13 re-workings of tracks from the group's critically-acclaimed third album, The English Riviera by producers Benoit & Sergio, Ewan Pearson, Camo & Krooked, Jesse Rose, Soul Clap and others.

Miniature Tigers, Mia Pharaoh (Modern Art)

Mona, Mona (Mercury)

Monica, New Life (J-Records)

Wes Montgomery, Echoes of Indiana Avenue (Resonance)
The first full album of previously unreleased music by Montgomery in more than 25 is made up of studio and live performances recorded in Indianapolis in 1957-1958.

New York Gypsy All-Stars, Romantech (Traditional Crossroads)

Ninjasonik, No Swords or Masks EP (Decon)
Brooklyn-based MCs/ruffians Ninjasonik marries the sounds of electro, pop punk, and hip hop. Listen to "Turn It Up" below.

Nite Jewel, One Second Of Love (Secretly Canadian)
California native Ramona Gonzalez is the 80s-influenced dance pop artist otherwise known as Nite Jewel, who brings some R&B pop pop appeal to her sophomore album. Check out the hilarious video for the title track below.

Now, Now, Threads (Trans- Records)
Currently on tour with The Naked & Famous (which stops here March 28), Now, Now is a new indie pop group signed to Death Cab For Cutie guitarist/producer Chris Walla's Trans- Records label; this album was recorded with producer Howard Redekopp in Vancouver (Tegan + Sara, New Pornographers). Listen to "Dead Oaks" below.

Pond, Beard Wives Denim (Modular)
Side project for ]
An Aussie psyche rock band made up of Tame Impala members Nick Albrook, Jay Watson and Kevin Parker.

Eliza Rickman, O, You Sinners (self-release)

Royal Baths, Better Luck Next Life (Kanine Records)
San Francisco's Royal Baths (Jeremy Cox and Jigmae Baer) issue a sophomore album of dark, psychedelic electro rock. Check out "Black Sheep" below.

Secret Music, Secret Music (Warner/Independent Label Group)

Todd Snider, Agnostic Hymns & Stoner Fables (Aimless Records)

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band, Wrecking Ball (Columbia Records)
Springsteen's 17th studio album; the Boss hits the St. Pete Times Forum with E Street Band in tow on Fri., March 23.

The Steel Wheels, Lay Down, Lay Low (self-release)

Lissy Trullie, Lissy Trullie (Downtown Records)
Produced by John Hill (Santigold, M.I.A.) and David Sitek (TV On the Radio, Yeah Yeah Yeahs).

Mike Wexler, Dispossession (Mexican Summer)

White Rabbits, Milk Famous (TBD)

Denison Witmer, The Ones Who Wait (Asthmatic Kitty)

Xiu Xiu, Always (Polyvinyl)

Yellow Ostrich, Strange Land (Barsuk Records)
The experimental artist-turned-full band (singer-guitarist Alex Schaaf enlisted the help of drummer Michael Tapper and multi-instrumentalist Jon Natchez) presents a sophomore full-length. Check out "The Shakedown" below.

The Shakedown by Yellow Ostrich

Add a comment