Jensen Serf Company announce new 12-inch EP, hear some of Triple Freaks A Beach now

J. Mendecino mastered effort will see limited vinyl-only release "sooner than later"



  • Nick Nicks
They've played a healthy show schedule since their Electric Sister 7-inch, but it's been about two years since the Bay area received new material from beloved garage-rock outfit Jensen Serf Company. That all changed this morning with the news that the boys — Peter Kokkinakos and Benjamin Saylor (pictured above) — are releasing a 12-inch EP of older, unreleased material in August.

"It feels good getting these songs out on vinyl," Saylor, 21, told CL in a message. "They are all older songs to us, written and recorded when we first started playing as JSC."

Most of the tracks have been played live, and others have never been heard, but most of the 11 tunes on Triple Freaks A Beach were recorded on Tascam 8-track reel-to-reel at the band's old studio/practice space in Gulfport, Fla. (some were tracked at a church where the duo also used to rehearse) before being sent off to J. Mendicino's Boston-based Odd Fellows Recording for mixing and mastering. Mendicino was also at the helm of the Hemispheres LP from St. Pete's BOTB-winning Alexander & The Grapes. In fact, it was Grapes frontman Alexander Charos that set Saylor and Kokkinakos, 21, up with Mendicino.

There is no concrete date on the release, but Saylor tells CL that it will be limited to 250 copies on clear splatter vinyl with the possibility of a limited cassette release via St. Pete boutique label Viva La Records. You can hear "Narrow Magic" from the release, check out San Diego artist D. Peterman's Zom Petty art, and see the Triple Freaks' tracklist below. A free download of Serf Co. fan-favorite "Meethead" is available via Bandcamp.

Jensen Serf Company are set to open for Ty Segall along with Wand at Epic Problem (4215 E. Columbus Dr., Tampa) on September 12 show. Doors at 7:30 p.m. and tickets are $13-$15. More information is available here.

Triple Freaks A Beach Tracklist:
01. North Shore
02. Patrick Riley Called You A Wizard
03. Shoreline
04. Varial Speed
05. Day Trippin'
06. Space Coast
07. Serff Jones
08. Stay Away
09. Wave #1
10. Narrow Magic

Add a comment