Skrillex released a new album while you were sleeping, download it and hear it for free now

EDM wonder boy defies daylight savings, drops new LP at 3 a.m. EDT



  • Biz3 Publicity
The majority of Bay area Skrillex fans probably won't get into any of the EDM producer's upcoming Winter Music Conference appearances in Miami, and anyone who lives a close-to-normal existence can't possibly afford passes to the overpriced Ultra Music Festival where the man born Sonny Moore will join Diplo to form a duo called "Jack U."

Those locked out, access-less, and broke can to find solace on the Interwebs, however, thanks to this morning's surprise release of Skrilly's new LP, Recess.

In a press release unmercifully sent out at 3 a.m. EDT this morning, Skrillex's handlers detailed how the album (officially set for release on March 18 via OWSLA/Big Beat/Atlantic) was embedded within a phone app/stupid smartphone video game that, as of last night, started unlocking tracks one at a time until the full LP was released just a few hours ago.

Recess is the 26-year-old Los Angeles native's full length debut (you've been feasting on handfuls of EPs and singles this whole time), and finds him joined by Diplo, Passion Pit frontman Michael Angelakos, Chance The Rapper, plus Kill The Noise, Alvin Risk, and others.

Have a look at the track listing and listen to Recess' lead single "All Is Fair In Love And Brostep" (seriously, that's what it's called) below.

Grab the Alien Ride app here, and try your luck at streaming Recess on iTunes' "First Play" or head to to hear a user-sourced Soundcloud stream of the LP.

Read Andrew Silverstein's review of Skrillex's December 2011 set at The Ritz Ybor here.

Recess Tracklisting
1. All Is Fair In Love And Brostep (feat. Ragga Twins)
2. Recess (feat. Kill The Noise, Fatman Scoop and Michael Angelakos)
3. Stranger (feat. KillaGraham from Milo and Otis and Sam Dew)
4. Try It Out (Neon Mix) (feat. Alvin Risk)
5. Coast Is Clear (feat. Chance The Rapper and The Social Experiment)
6. Dirty Vibe (feat. Diplo, G-Dragon from Big Bang and CL from 2NE1)
7. Ragga Bomb (feat. Ragga Twins)
8. Doompy Poomp
9. Fuck That ("F That" for amended)
10. Ease My Mind (feat. Niki & The Dove)
11. Fire Away (feat. Kid Harpoon)

Add a comment