Roadkill Ghost Choir announce debut LP, listen to lead single "A Blow To The Head" now

In Tongues due August 19



Right now, Roadkill Ghost Choir are getting ready to play some farm in Manchester, Tennessee as a part of a little festival known as Bonnaroo. The Deland, Florida-based psych-folk outfit — which spent a few weeks opening for Band Of Horses last spring — then heads out on a month-long tour that culminates in an August 1 appearance at another festival you might have heard of: Lollapalooza. All of this is just another step in the rapid rise of a band that has a Letterman appearance to its credity, but no official full-length release.

Well, now that's about to change, too.

Yesterday the band revealed that they've completed work on In Tongues, the 10-track follow up to last year's Quiet Light EP. Recorded in Athens, Georgia as well as Roadkill's home studio in Central Florida, the LP — due August 19 — was produced by Doug Boehm, who's been at the helm of releases by Girls, Dr. Dog, and Tokyo Police Club.

The first taste of In Tongues is "A Blow To The Head," a sprawling, nearly seven-minute collection of weird ambient noise, bowel-shaking bass, and horns augmenting Roadkill's penchant for crafting muscular, unabashedly American rock & roll. The whole of it is buoyed by frontman Andrew Shepard's pained vocal, which can turn from quiet and subdued to violently impassioned in a heartbeat.

Have a listen to the song and see the tracklisting for In Tongues below. The band's next scheduled home state stop happens on July 3 at Point Ybel Brewing Company in Fort Myers, so keep your fingers crossed for something just a bit closer to the Bay area after Roadkill's Chicago trip in August.

In Tongues Track Listing:
1. Slow Knife
2. HWY
3. Down & Out
4. A Blow To The Head
5. I Could See Everything
6. No Enemy
7. Womb
8. Lazarus, You've Been Dreaming
9. Dead Friend
10. See You Soon

Add a comment